Quilting Retreat 2014 (aka Reading Retreat)

So every year I go with my mom on her Quilting Retreat. Her Quilt Guild goes on a three-day retreat where they quilt pretty much non-stop. I never caught the quilting bug but I tag along and spend the whole weekend reading. Its a fantastic weekend every year. We arrive Friday morning and unpack all our multitudes of items and we stay until just after lunch on Sunday. We stay at the Incarnation Center in Ivoryton.  It has a large middle room where all the quilters set up and two wings of rooms attached off the large main room. We get three meals a day, all of which are quite delicious. Last night for dinner we had grilled steak, a sweet potato mash, and roasted asparagus. Yum! And the best part is we don’t have to worry about doing any dishes!

I was able to finish 2 (and a half) books this weekend. I also got to exercise and spend some time relaxing with friends. And my husband even drove down yesterday to spend some time with mom and me. During the weekend, we also go to a nearby quilt store and a couple wineries during the weekend. The Incarnation Center is a great spot, they have hiking trails, a large lake, and a lot of animals on the grounds. My favorite animals are the burros that live behind the building we stay in. I’ve included some pictures in this blog post of our fun adventures this weekend! Also be sure to check out my mom’s blog to see what she got done this weekend!

Link to Mom’s log: http://www.joanne94w.wordpress.com

2 thoughts on “Quilting Retreat 2014 (aka Reading Retreat)

  1. Pingback: Quilting Retreat 2015 | Rebeccabookreview

  2. Pingback: Reading Retreat! 2016 | Rebeccabookreview

Leave a Reply

