2017 Book #44 – The Simplicity of Cider by Amy E. Reichert

61EYgKWCiDLTitle: The Simplicity of Cider
Author: Amy E. Reichert
Date finished: 5/12/17
Genre: Fiction, women’s fiction
Publisher: Gallery Books
Publication Date: May 16, 2017
Pages in book: 336
Stand alone or series: Stand alone
Where I got the book from: NetGalley NOTE: I received this book for free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This in no way affected my opinion of the book, or the content of my review.

Blurb from the cover:

Fall in love with The Simplicity of Cider, the charming new novel about a prickly but gifted cider-maker whose quiet life is interrupted by the arrival of a handsome man and his young son at her family’s careworn orchard by the author of The Coincidence of Coconut Cake and Luck, Love & Lemon Pie.
Focused and unassuming fifth generation cider-maker Sanna Lund has one desire: to live a simple, quiet life on her family’s apple orchard in Door County, Wisconsin. Although her business is struggling, Sanna remains fiercely devoted to the orchard, despite her brother’s attempts to convince their aging father to sell the land.
Single dad Isaac Banks has spent years trying to shield his son Sebastian from his troubled mother. Fleeing heartbreak at home, Isaac packed up their lives and the two headed out on an adventure, driving across the country. Chance—or fate—led them straight to Sanna’s orchard.
Isaac’s helping hands are much appreciated at the apple farm, even more when Sanna’s father is injured in an accident. As Sanna’s formerly simple life becomes increasingly complicated, she finds solace in unexpected places—friendship with young Sebastian and something more deliciously complex with Isaac—until an outside threat infiltrates the farm.
From the warm and funny Amy E. Reichert, The Simplicity of Cider is a charming love story with a touch of magic, perfect for fans of Sarah Addison Allen and Gayle Forman.

My rating:  4.5 stars out of a scale of 5

My review: I was provided a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest and fair review. This book tells the story of Sanna Lund, who lives with her father at their family orchard. The orchard has been their family’s land for generations, with their normally large family all living together in the large farm house. It’s narrowed down to just Sanna and her father, Einars, now though and they rattle around the house and the land, trying to keep their orchard afloat. Sanna has a talent for making cider and her father decided to invest in a great renovation of their barn to install more cider machinery. Unfortunately neither of them know how to get the word out though so the orchard is now pretty deep in debt. Despite that, when father and son Isaac and Sebastian roll into town Einars decides to hire them to help out. Isaac feels an immediate attraction to Sanna, but his life is complicated enough with what he’s running from. With all their complications, is there really any chance for them to have a happy ending?
Overall I really just loved this book. There was just a touch of magic in the book and it really made it come alive for me. I loved Sanna’s character, she was strong and proud but also so loving and generous. And the cidery and orchard added such an interesting aspect to the story. The author really did such a wonderful job too of weaving this romantic and touching love story, Sanna and Isaac’s story really reached into my chest and just squeezed my heart tight. And I loved the ending and how creatively the author made a happy ending not only for Sanna but also for so many of the other characters in the story as well. This was such a great read and I would really recommend it!

The bottom line: I just loved this book, this was a beautifully woven love story with just a touch of magic to it. This one is a must read for the summer, I would definitely recommend!

Link to author website

Click on the cover to go to the book’s Amazon page

Advertisements

Bout of Books 19 Update – Day 4

KcxHEGZ

I had a really busy work day yesterday and then Kris and I went out to dinner and watched a movie, so I definitely didn’t get to even read for two hours, I’d be surprised if I read for one hour. Luckily today (Friday) I have off so it will be a catch-up day for reading. Anyways, my Thursday’s progress is below:

Updates

Thursday
Number of pages I’ve read today: 30
Total number of pages I’ve read: 580
Books read today: I continued reading The Simplicity of Cider
Challenges: I did the Thursday challenge, which was to create a dating profile for a character from a book. I picked a character from a recent read, Vasya from The Bear and the Nightingale

Today (Friday) I’m home reading and hope to get a lot done. Especially since the upcoming weekend will be such a busy one! Happy reading everyone!

Day 4 Challenge: Character Dating Profile

I decided to do a character profile on a character from one of my recent reads, The Bear and the Nightingale. I really loved this book and how fantastical it was, I thought the main character of the book would be a great inspiration for this post!

515qNGaUTcL

Name Vasilisa (Vasya) Vladimirovich
Height 5’9″
Eye Color Green
Hair Color Black
Age 18

Hometown the edge of the Russian wilderness

368cd8a15dfc63593917ff75b5354b39
Family I have three brothers, one sister, and one half sister. My mother died in childbirth but my father is loving. My stepmother is the same kind of crazy as me but super mean

Occupation Well it isn’t a paid position but I keep the town safe. At least until the new priest came to town and started mucking up everything.

Hobbies Talking to wood nymphs and guardians of the stove (domovoi) and the stables. Adventuring in the woods. Talking to horses. 

domovoi_by_melora-d33xo15

Looking For A man on a brilliant white stallion with startling blue eyes who I met in a dream when I was young